Pencil

In pencil I drew a heart,

But I should have used a pen.

Because you had the eraser

I didn’t know back then.

 

In the sand I carved a heart,

But it was too close to the sea.

Because then came the waves

Back then I couldn’t see.

 

In the foggy window I traced a heart,

But then came the rain.

Because it washed my heart away

Back then I didn’t know about pain.

 

I cut a sandwich into the shape of a heart,

But then came the starvation.

You ate my heart-shaped art

Back then I always saved your bacon.

 

But now I draw in pencil,

I stand too close to the sea

I write on foggy windows

I eat heart-shaped sandwiches with my tea.

 

Because all that matters,

Is being in control.

Even when things go wrong,

Stay true to your soul.

Leave a Reply

