Poem

Smile

It has been a while,

since I have seen a smile

like yours.

 

I’m positive you have magnet teeth,

each one pulling you closer to me

like a force.

 

It’s been a while,

since I have smiled

upon just hearing a name.

 

But here I am,

smiling and I don’t really know why

but it’s ok to not understand.

 

It’s been a while,

since I have pictured a lifestyle

like two paths crossed.

 

Detached houses and Sunday afternoon

late night beers and BBQs,

like we would have.

 

It may be a while

until I see a smile,

like yours again.

 

Until that day,

I will remain this way

caught up in the thought of you.

Leave a Reply

