Over-thinking is like Over-drinking

It’s late

and I’m thinking.

 

It’s a weekday

but I’m drinking.

 

Intoxicated by my negative thoughts,

 

I’m over-thinking.

 

Just like over-drinking,

once you have your first drop

you can’t stop.

 

Soon the bottles done,

one person pity party –

It’s no fun.

 

I seek solace, therapy for my thoughts.

 

But

 

I’ll never grow,

If I let negative thoughts consume me.

I’ve got to let them go,

Before the negative effects start to show.

 

So I won’t reach for the bottle of whine

I won’t take that first fatal sip of moan-et.

It’s not worth it,

Thinking I’m worth less

than I really am.

 

Now it’s later

and I’m thinking again

 

But the thoughts don’t intoxicate

they emancipate,

I have freed myself from the negative chains.

 

I was born to pave the way,

I live for brighter days.

Leave a Reply

