Orange

How do I feel?

Exposed

Like an orange

Post-peel.

 

How do I react?

Truthfully

So wounded my instinct

Is to retract, to pull back.

 

How do I move past this?

Honestly

It’s a never-ending cycle

Crisis after crisis

 

Well I’m sick of crying sis.

 

What do I have left to learn?

Seriously

It’s hard to stay positive

When I’m constantly denied what I yearn

 

What so many people tell me I deserve.

 

How did I,

Start questioning myself so much

I could rival Mastermind or QI.

 

Maybe it’s time

To master my own mind

Embrace the exposure

Use it as a foundation for closure.

 

Just like the citrus fruit post-peel

My actions didn’t reveal

A vulnerability

They helped me to heal

To realise it’s ok to feel

To banish the façade

To celebrate the real!

Leave a comment